Association of Higher Civil and Public Servants


  • New Ezine available - click Ezines link on the left 
  • Scroll down for links to reports on recent issues


Officers for 2017-2018

The following Officers were elected for 2018-2019 at the Annual Delegate Conference held in May 2018:

Chairperson Edna Dowling Employment & Social Protection



Val Jeffrey 

Larry Dunne


Public Expenditure & Reform


Chairperson - Edna Dowling

Edna joined the Civil Service in 1992.  This is her second spell in Dept. Social Protection, having previously served in CSO and (the then) Dept of Public Enterprise.  She was previously a member of both CPSU and PSEU and has been a member of AHCPS since her promotion in 2006.  She joined the Executive in 2009 and has represented the Association on the ICTU Womens’ Committee.


Vice-Chairperson - Val Jeffrey

Val is the current Vice-Chair of the AHCPS and has been involved with the Association since 2010. Val was born in Cork and educated at the North Monastery school. He joined Revenue as a Higher Tax Officer at the age of 17 immediately after completing his leaving cert in 1979 and has spent his entire career there. Val currently works as an Assistant Principal in Revenue’s Cork office where he has responsibility for PAYE customer service. He has also gained vast experience in H.R., training & development as well as audit throughout his career. Val is Chairman of the Revenue Branch of the AHCPS as well as the Revenue Staff Panel group of unions and is on Revenue’s Main Partnership group.


Treasurer - Larry Dunne

Larry joined the civil service in 1979 and has worked in the Department of Agriculture, the Forest Service, the Department of Marine, the Courts Services, the OIC, the Departments of Finance and Public Expenditure & Reform.

Larry has been actively involved in civil service trade union affairs since 1980. He was Chairman of the Department of Agriculture branch of the CPSU during the 1980s/1990s. He was a member of the CPSU Executive Committee for many years, serving as Vice President of that union and was also chair of the Marine PSEU Branch. Larry served on the OIC, Finance and D/PER branches of the AHCPS and is a long serving a member of the Executive Committee.

Larry also represents the Association on the Board of the Civil Service Charities Fund.

>back to top   


Honorary Officers

President Tom Quigley

P. A. Terry
Mary McGuire
Benny Kevitt
Richard Ryan
Con Ryan
Pat Dowling
Seán Ó Riordáin 
Brian Ingoldsby
Peter Greene
Dave Thomas
Mary McLoughlin
Brian Murnane

John Kelleher 


Billy Carrie
Brigitta O'Doherty
Brian McKevitt

>back to top      




© 2020 Association of Higher Civil and Public Servants

  • Fleming's Hall 12 Fleming's Place Dublin 4 
  • Phone: +353 1 6686077 / 6686064
  • Fax: +353 1 6686380
  • Email:


Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords
Association of Higher Civil and Public Servants